A country is considered landlocked if it is surrounded on all sides by one or more other States and therefore has no direct access to the coastline providing access to the seas/oceans. Today there are 49 such countries, of which five are partially recognized, so they are not usually taken into account. Thus, there are 44 landlocked states on the planet today.

Except for two representatives of South America (Bolivia and Paraguay), the remaining landlocked countries are in Africa (16), Europe (14) and Asia (12). There are three countries in the world that, in addition to being landlocked, are surrounded by only one country. These are Lesotho, surrounded by South Africa, San Marino, surrounded by Italy, and Vatican City, a city-state surrounded by Rome, the Italian capital.

Landlocked countries

In addition, there are two landlocked nations in the world that border solely on countries that are also landlocked.

  1. Liechtenstein, located in central Europe, which is directly surrounded by countries such as Switzerland (to the east) and Austria (to the west).

  2. Uzbekistan, located in Central Asia, surrounded by countries such as Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.



COUNTRY Area (km2) Neighbouring countries
1. Afghanistan 652,230 Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, China, Pakistan
2. Armenia 29,743 Iran, Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan
3. Azerbaijan 86,600 Russia, Georgia, Armenia, Iran, Turkey
4. Bhutan 38,394 Iran, Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan
5. Kazakhstan 2,724,900 China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
6. Kyrgyzstan 199,951 China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan
7. Laos 236,800 Myanmar, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand
8. Mongolia 1,566,500 China, Russia
9. Nepal 147,181 China, India
10. Tajikistan 143,100 Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, China
11. Turkmenistan 488,100 Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, Iran
12. Uzbekistan 449,100 Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan


COUNTRY Area (km2) Neighbouring countries
1. Botswana 582,000 Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa
2. Burkina Faso 274,222 Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire
3. Burundi 27,834 Rwanda, Tanzania, DR Congo
4. Central African Republic 622,984 Chad, Cameroon, Congo, DR Congo, Sudan, South Sudan
5. Chad 1,284,000 Central African Republic, Libya, Niger, Sudan, Nigeria, Cameroon
6. Eswatini 17,364 Mozambique, South Africa
7. Ethiopia 1,104,300 Djibouti, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan
8. Lesotho 30,355 South Africa
9. Malawi 118,484 Zambia, Tanzania, Mozambique
10. Mali 1,240,192 Algeria, Niger, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea, Senegal, Mauritania
11. Niger 1,267,000 Libya, Chad, Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Algeria
12. Rwanda 26,338 Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, DR Congo
13. South Sudan 622,984 Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, DR Congo, Central African Republic
14. Uganda 241,038 Kenya, South Sudan, DR Congo, Rwanda, Tanzania
15. Zambia 752,612 DR Congo, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia, Angola
16. Zimbabwe 390,757 South Africa, Botswana, Zambia, Mozambique


COUNTRY Area (km2) Neighbouring countries
1. Austria 83,871 NGermany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Italy, Liechtenstein, Switzerland/strong>
2. Andorra 468 France, Spain
3. Belarus 207,600 Poland, Lithuania, Russia, Ukraine, Latvia
4. Czech Republic 78,867 Austria, Germany, Poland, Slovakia
5. Hungary 93,028 Austria, Croatia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine
6. Liechtenstein 160 Switzerland, Austria
7. Luxemburg 2,586 Belgium, Germany, France
8. Moldova 33,846 Romania, Ukraine
9. Northern Macedonia 25,713 Kosovo, Serbia, Bulgaria, Greece, Albania
10. San Marino 61 Italy
11. Serbia 88,361 Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania
12. Slovakia 49,035 Austria, Czech Republic, Poland, Ukraine, Hungary
13. Switzerland 41,284 France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Austria, Italy
14. Vatican City 0,44 Italy


COUNTRY Area (km2) Neighbouring countries
1. Bolivia 1,098,581 Peru, Brazil, Chile, Argentina, Paraguay
2. Paraguay 406,752 Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia

Finally, we note that the largest landlocked country is Kazakhstan (Central Asia) with a land area of just over 2.7 million kilometers. The smallest landlocked state is the Vatican, with an area of only 44 hectares.

© 2020–2024 All Rights Reserved.